a visit to my library

19 Jul

I have a lot of cookbooks. A LOT. I have managed to purge some over the past year, but I still own far more than I ever use. And honestly, I don’t usually use cookbooks very often. I love to read them, page through them, and fantasize over them, but I am too fickle to actually follow a recipe.

Thankfully, Jim is learning how to cook and that means these beautiful tomes are actually having their spines cracked open and the contents transported from the page and into my belly. One dish in particular is becoming a staple because it speaks to all of my senses in tandem: nom nom and nom.

This is the Greek Rice with Lemon Tofu from Dreena’s Vive Le Vegan! I’m not usually much of a rice person, but as Jim was doing the cooking I bit my tongue when he told me what he was whipping up. No need to discourage the man!

Oh.
My.
Goodness.

Dreena’s always good and reliable for a satisfying meal, but the afternoon I came home and smelled this feast wafting through the front door, I felt like the luckiest person on the block.

Maybe I’ll bust out my books more often…

5 Responses to “a visit to my library”

  1. Kiersten July 20, 2010 at 4:20 am #

    I love that lemon tofu recipe. It’s so easy, but so yummy! I have a lot of cookbooks too. I have been making an effort to use them more this past year because I felt like mine weren’t getting used enough either. Sometimes they just get used for inspiration and not an actual recipe.

  2. Aimee July 20, 2010 at 5:55 am #

    I’ve turned more omnis onto tofu with that recipe than I can count. I have one friend who makes it for all of her parties (I taught her how to make the delicious cold spread out of the leftovers!) served with matzo!

  3. Bianca- Vegan Crunk July 20, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I, too, have WAY too many cookbooks. But I could never part with any of them. My mom collects non-vegan cookbooks, and she has several thousand. And I have a feeling that I got that gene. 🙂

  4. Josiane July 21, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    Clearly, I need to get my hands on this book, if only for that recipe! It sounds – and looks – delicious!

  5. Elinor of Pride & Vegudice July 21, 2010 at 7:50 pm #

    Of course it was good! It’s Dreena. I think we all have too many cookbooks 🙂

Leave a Reply

