chocolate nut milk showdown

8 Aug

Chocolate almond milk has always been staple in our house. It’s just SO good! When stocking up last week, I noticed something new- chocolate hazelnut milk! Pacific has also started carrying their own hemp milk, so we decided to have a nut milk showdown. The judges were: myself, Jim and my little brother Alec.

The votes:

Kris:
Almond milk- still the reigning champ at #1.
Hazelnut milk- a very close second. More cocoay than chocolatey, but with a nice hint of hazelnuts. Reminded me of Nutella.
Hemp milk- okay in a pinch, but Living Harvest’s hemp milk is much better.

Jim:
Almond milk- again, still #1
Hazelnut milk- very creamy, the cocoay-ness was also noted.
Hemp milk- while being chocolatey, had other flavors present that distracted from “the experience”.

Alec:
Hazelnut milk- dissenting from the majority, Alec felt that the presence of the hazelnut flavor took this chocolate milk up a notch. The mouth feel was better than the almond milk.
Almond milk- it was sweet and chocolatey, but “full of almondness”- I don’t know what that means. 🙂
Hemp milk- Meh. Not as good as Living Harvest.

So, it appears that almond milk is still the champion, but hazelnut will become a frequent visitor. Drank in our Welch’s jelly jars, of course.

What’s your favorite chocolate milk?

5 Responses to “chocolate nut milk showdown”

  1. Josiane August 10, 2010 at 9:49 am #

    Hazelnut chocolate milk? It’s like Nutella in a glass!
    It’s extremely rare that I buy flavored milks (actually, I can even say it’s rare that I buy milk, as I make my own soymilk), and when I do, it’s almost never chocolate. Not that I don’t like it, of course, but I kind of feel I can add my own sugar and cocoa (or chocolate) to plain milk if ever I feel like it. The treat I get myself once in a while, though, is Natur-a strawberry milk. Oh goodness! It has nothing of the chemical-y taste you sometimes find in strawberry-flavored stuff, no: just real strawberry goodness. I particularly like it in winter, when it feels like strawberry season is so far away… I don’t know if you can find Natur-a products in the States, though – if not, you have to come visit me, and I’ll make sure you try that yummy milk! 🙂

  2. DJ Karma August 10, 2010 at 10:03 pm #

    I just posted on making milks! I love chocolate anything, so I think the next one I make will include cocoa nibs in the mix. Hope it turns out!

    Anyway, if you’re interested in getting a soymilk maker, I’m offering a $10 discount on one.

  3. Courtney August 11, 2010 at 2:34 pm #

    I am with you–almond milk all the way!!

    Courtney

  4. That Mom August 15, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    Never tried chocolate hazelnut milk but now I want to. My 4yo is on a dairy free diet and prefers chocolate almond milk (Silk brand) over chocolate soy milk.

  5. Spicyveg September 24, 2010 at 10:45 am #

    I just bought Hazelnut milk – my local stop and shop just starting carrying it! I am very excited to try it. I bought the vanilla though because I always use unsweetened vanilla almond milk in my cereal, and just to drink. I actually have never tried any chocolate milks except for Silk which I didn’t care for and 8th continent chocolate soy which I LOVE but can’t seem to find anymore. sadface.

Leave a Reply

