input needed!

23 Aug

I’m having a dilemma and I need your input.

Cheesecakes- cake or not. I’m not sure if I should include cheesecakes in my book on cakes and wanted your feedback. Here is the support for and against:

For: By having cheesecakes, we have cheesecake! Yay! And they are often gluten free, or easily adapted to be so, which makes the world a better place.

Against: They’re not really cake and are taking away the valuable book real estate afforded to more traditional cake recipes.

What do you think?

9 Responses to “input needed!”

  1. Mandee August 23, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    I’m not a huge cheezecake fan (vegan or pregan) but I wouldn’t mind seeing them in your new book!

    • Abby August 24, 2010 at 6:48 am #

      Pregan? That’s good! I’ve never heard of it, but I will use it henceforth!

  2. Vaala ◪ August 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    I voted the bottom one but I actually don’t think of them as cakes. For some reason I always think of them in the same category as tarts and pies and stuff so I’m always flipping through wildly in my cookbooks trying to find them ’cause they are never where I think they are (you’d have thought I’d have worked it out by now).

    But having said that, I like a good cheesecake recipe!

  3. Jessica August 24, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    Life is complete with cheesecakes in it!

  4. Jessica @ Lima's Vegan Kitchen August 24, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I loved cheesecake ‘pregan’ and finding vegan cheesecakes always makes me so so so happy! Its almost like a ‘Ha! Omnivores! We have everything!’ in a good way.

  5. Lee Ann August 24, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    I agree with Vaala.
    I don’t think of them as cakes proper, but am happy to see a really good cheesecake recipe.

    • maggie August 25, 2010 at 2:25 pm #

      I’m in the same camp as vaala

  6. BitterSweet August 28, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I think it depends… I’m not wild about cheesecake, but if it’s a unique/interesting/unconventional flavor combination, I’m all for it!

    • Kris August 31, 2010 at 10:33 am #

      I’m the same way- not much of a cheesecake person, but if it’s got enough going on, I’ll give it whirl.

Leave a Reply

