a taste for fall…

5 Oct

As the cooler weather sets in, I start to crave comfort foods. While not necessarily looking for overly hearty fare, chilly nights and layer-weather beckons for something that sticks to your ribs. Let’s take a stroll down memory lane for some recipes that fit the bill.

Some Curried Carrot Soup is simple to make, but is thick and flavorful for rainy nights or when you have the sniffles.

Some Pesto Ricotta will add flavor and protein to any pasta or pizza and make for happy tummies.

Inspired by Starbucks’ annual fall muffin, my Stuff This In Your Pumpkin Pie Hole Muffin will please vegans and non-vegans alike and is the perfect breakfast on a chilly autumn morning.

What are your favorite autumn eats?

15 Responses to “a taste for fall…”

  1. Andrea October 5, 2010 at 10:39 am #

    Thanks for reminding me that it’s definitely time to make some carrot soup!

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      It’s seriously soupy time right now.

  2. Josiane October 5, 2010 at 11:24 am #

    Thanks for the reminder! I really wanted to make that carrot soup, but I didn’t get around to it because summer carrots are just so tasty raw… Now that we have boatloads of carrots in our CSA basket, I see it in my near future.

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:40 am #

      Yes, summer carrots are so sweet and juicy, I love them raw, too. But I promise, this soup is so yummy, it won’t seem like a sacrifice.

  3. Amanda Nobile October 5, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    YUM! To all three recipes! Thank you!!!

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      You’re welcome!

  4. Lauren October 5, 2010 at 1:12 pm #

    My favorite thing to make is definitely soups for fall!
    Your curry soup looks amazzing, thanks for posting it!! 🙂

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      Thanks! I got sick a day after reposting this and I made this soup… I wish I could say it made me all better, but it made feeling like crap seem a bit better. I guess that’s all you can ask for.

  5. Melisser October 5, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    I want them all, but mainly I want my pie hole stuffed.. hey, waaaait..

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:39 am #

      When it tastes good, who doesn’t want their pie hole stuffed?

  6. Courtney October 7, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    Anything with apples or spaghetti squash is a-okay with me, lol. I love fall!!

    Courtney

    • Kris October 12, 2010 at 10:38 am #

      A spaghetti squash… I buy you, I stare at you, yet I am always too afraid to cook you.

  7. Kelsey October 12, 2010 at 1:20 pm #

    checking out this muffin recipe right now!! OHHH MYYYY GODD KRIS!!! theres a lovely hole in ur muffin, and im loving it!! haha

  8. Ashley October 14, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Subbing to the blog! 🙂

    • Kris October 14, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

